Suitability of registration algorithms for a specific image type

I am new to ITK, and have been exploring the different registration algorithms available. (Kudos on the breadth and depth of examples provided, BTW.) Most of the illustrations I have seen deal with biomedical images, of course, where essentially the entire image content is available in the two images being registered, with the two images differing in various rigid/deformable transformations of the coordinate system.
Unlike these, the types of images I am dealing with may be viewed as variable rotations/crops of a much larger image. As a result, the two images in a pair may only share a limited amount of content, over a partial “overlap” region of the two image fields. I am interesting in registering such pairs, such that the shared-content overlap regions are brought into coincidence; while starting with rigid transformations, I would ultimately also like to bring in deformations as well. Obviously, the feasibility of any such registrations diminishes as the extent of overlap between the two images decreases.
What hasn’t been clear to me so far is how robust the various available registration algorithms are in the face of limited content overlap between the two images. I would guess that registration algorithms which rely on explicit displacement fields (e.g. the various demons algorithms) could in principle still work, but the initial displacement fields might have to be quite large in order to insure convergence, and would therefore have to be bootstrapped somehow.
I apologize that the question is somewhat imprecise. I am interested in any bumps to my intuition or information about prior experiences in this domain. Naturally, trial-and-error is always an option, but given the largest number of available algorithms, some initial hints would of course be welcome. Many thanks in advance.