Generate Rotational Maximum Intensity Projections

I am very new to using ITK, and am working using SITK on Python.
I have 3D PET scans. From each 3D matrix, I have generated 2 MIPs at 90 degrees - Sagittal and Coronal. This was easily achieved using the sitk.MaximumProjection function.

How can I generate Maximum Intensity Projection (MIP), at 10 degree rotations?
So that every PET scan gives me 36 MIPs.

Hello @divya_chou,

ITK/SimpleITK do not have this functionality (general volume rendering). Possibly take a look at VTK which is also available in Python. This very old posting shows how to do it using VTK (C++). The toolkit has changed since then but this should be a reasonable starting point. For VTK questions see the VTK discourse.

Thanks for pointing in the direction of VTK.

However Iā€™m wondering that since ITK offers functionality to generate Coronal and Sagittal MIP (using sitk.MaximumProjection function), and it offers 3D transform using Euler3DTransform, is it not feasible to generate rotational MIPs using ITK?

You ought to be able to rotate the image, resample it to a new orientation and then generate MIP images of the rotated image to get what you want.

@dchenā€™s solves the problem by moving the image, my original thinking involved moving the camera. If you only want to use SimpleITK, Iā€™d go with @dchenā€™s solution.

Could you point me to the exact functions to be used in this case?

Hello @divya_chou,

So the two relevant elements are the rigid transformation class, and the resample filter.

In this case the most appropriate transformation is VersorRigid3DTransform. You should set the rotation center to the center of your volume, versor_tx.SetCenter(center_of_volume), and set the rotation using the axis-angle representation, versor_tx.SetRotation(axis, angle).

You then use the ResampleImageFilter to resample the original volume with the transform. You will need to define the resampling grid.