Edit a segmentation programatically in simpleitk

Hello,
I’m very new to itk/simpleitk. What I need to do is:

1. Segment a volume in an image A (I do this in 3D Slicer, manually).

2. In simpleitk, apply the segmentation in another image, B (assume A and B are different frames in a 4D series with no movement between so no registration is needed)

3. Compare the segmented volumes from A and B voxel by voxel and depending on certain properties of their intensities, either keep or remove the corresponding voxel from the initial segmentation.

My questions are:

a) How do I use a segmentation to select a specific volume from a larger volume? I can load the nrrd file as a SimpleITK.Image object and visualise it. How do I “apply” it on the new volume to extract a new sub-volume? (sorry if this is a very basic question)

b) How do I edit a segmentation by removing specific voxels programatically?

If these are covered in an existing tutorial, please point me to the right resource.

Hello @kliron,

This is more of a numpy answer, but hopefully this does what you were thinking of (not sure):

impor SimpleITK as sitk
import numpy as np

#Potentially resample image_b onto image_'s grid
#image_b = sitk.Resample(image_b, image_a)
#image_a_view = image_a.GetArrayViewFromImage(image_a)
#image_b_view = image_b.GetArrayViewFromImage(image_b)
#segmentation_arr = segmentation.GetArrayFromImage(segmentation)

image_a_view = np.array([[2,3],[4,5]])
image_b_view = np.array([[6,6],[7,7]])
segmentation_arr = np.array([[0,1],[1,0]])

mask_indexes = list(zip(*np.where(segmentation_arr == 1)))
remove_condition = list(np.logical_and(image_a_view[segmentation_arr==1]>2,
                                       image_b_view[segmentation_arr==1]==6))
for mi,rc in zip(mask_indexes, remove_condition):
    if rc:
        segmentation_arr[mi] = 0
new_segmentation = sitk.GetImageFromArray(segmentation_arr)
new_segmentation.CopyInformation(segmentation)
1 Like