Changes In ITK Mattes Mutual Information Metric

Hi, Everyone!

I have little experience on ITK, and little knowledge on C++, although, I am doing some studies on Mutual Information Metric in Registration Pipelines. :smile:

I’ve been reading a lot about registration, types of Mutual Information and its calculation, Metrics, Optimizers, and so on. However, I still do not have the insight on how to make it all into code. :face_with_monocle:

I guess if I understand the ITK code for calculation of Mattes Mutual Information (READING THE DEFINITION FILE) I can make some changes to adapt the other concepts of Mutual Information and move on! And certainly, these edited files could work properly with ITK library.

So far, I am very much lost on the whole ITK documentation :worried:. I found these two C++ files:

and this:

Although, I’m not sure if they do contain the calculation of Mattes MI, and I’m not certain if the “.hxx” file contains the practical definitions of the methods I need to know.

I’d really be grateful to get any clue on how to get started with that.

Yes, .hxx file does contain the important code. But you should also look at the parent class, ImageToImageMetric and its implementation, especially GetValueThread method. But beware, this code is optimized for speed, not clarity. In particular, a large part of code deals with multi-threading.

1 Like

For understanding how a software works, it can help if you run it in a debugger, stepping through the source code line by line.

2 Likes

Wow… Yes you made a point. I’m afraid I cannot make it through. It’s hard to understand the whole auxiliary multi-thread processing to then understand the metrics execution, But thanks anyway for the precise clue.

I hope I can find a way around.

Thanks!

Thanks, Lasso.
I’ll work it out! Sure it is a good direction!

Thank you!

Hey @lassoan and @dzenanz,