Porting https://itk.org/Wiki/ITK/Examples/Metrics/MeanSquaresImageToImageMetric from C++ to Python

Hi all, this is my first question here, I hope I understood the rules.

I have been using itk (C++ version) for many years now, so I am quite familiar with it. Recently I have been exploring the possibility to use it also in Python. So far with not a lot of luck. Here is an specific question but any link to itk or simple itk resources only will be most appreciated (so far I have found quite a few tutorials but after reading those I feel I do not yet understand the way itk works in Python).

The example:

I want to port the code from this example:

https://itk.org/Wiki/ITK/Examples/Metrics/MeanSquaresImageToImageMetric

to Python. As you will see, I am using both itk and simpleitk (I am not sure that is a good idea actually).

So far I have tried this:

import SimpleITK as sitk
import itk

def computeMetrics(nameFixed,nameMoving):

pixelType = sitk.sitkFloat32

fixedImage = sitk.ReadImage(nameFixed, pixelType)

movingImage = sitk.ReadImage(nameMoving, pixelType)

metric=itk.MeanSquaresImageToImageMetric()
    interpolator=itk.LinearInterpolateImageFunction()
    transform=itk.TranslationTransform()

interpolator.SetInputImage( fixedImage )

metric.SetFixedImage( fixedImage )
    metric.SetMovingImage( movingImage )
    metric.SetFixedImageRegion( fixedImage.GetLargestPossibleRegion() )
    metric.SetTransform( transform )
    metric.SetInterpolator( interpolator )

However, whenever I try to set the input images for the metric (both fixed and moving) I get the following error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “./computeImageMetric.py”, line 67, in
computeMetrics(sys.argv[1],sys.argv[2])
File “./computeImageMetric.py”, line 26, in computeMetrics
TypeError: in method ‘itkImageFunctionISS2DD_SetInputImage’, argument 2 of type ‘itkImageSS2 const *’