Need guidance to address the regression error ?

As a beginner I take up an issue, where I need to perform regression testing.

In order to understand the code, I had read the ItkSoftwareGuide pdf, google about it, watch lectures on youtube about regression testing, asked people on linkedin through direct messages.
I understand what is regression testing? when we perform it?

But I got stuck on the question :
1.how to perform it ?
2. do I need any tool like selerium?
Because everywhere showing what is testing cycle etc Just theoretical stuffs. But not how to run the test.

If you can suggest some resources or any piece of advice, it will be helpful.

Thank you :slight_smile:

selenium is used for browser-testing the code of web applications.

For testing ITK’s code, we use CTest (docs). Here is a somewhat outdated description.

Are you looking to add a new test to ITK, or to start adding tests to your application?

1 Like

yes I am looking to add a new regression test to ITK.

You should read Tests section of the software guide, and possibly skim the rest of that chapter.

For concrete examples, you could take a look at tests of one of ITK’s built-in modules, such as ITKSmoothing, or one of remote modules, such as ITKCuberille. CuberilleTest04.cxx is on the simpler side.

1 Like

Really I am still clueless.
Somebody changed the instance variable value to 100.
so, I am trying to test is it showing any error. But my knowledge lags behind with few question :-

1. where should I write the code add_test(...) in visual studio/ notepad?
  2. how I get to know my tests going right ?
  3. do I need the knowledge of root directory ? etc.

I want to learn something from the issue. At minimum performing regression testing.
Thank you.

add_test should go into CMakeLists.txt, see example. Here is an example of quantitative checking.