Missing methods

Hello,

I am trying to use sitk with Unity (C#). I have added the native and managed dll to my project.
I tried to follow the fundamental concepts here https://simpleitk.readthedocs.io/en/master/fundamentalConcepts.html
However, I can’t seem to use some methods while others work with no issue. For instance I wasn’t able to use image.GetPixel(), method isn’t defined; no problem with image.GetDimension() for exemple.

I am probably missing something simple but I’m pretty new to this.

Also, I think the dll is intended for .NET 3.5 while Unity allows only 2.0 or 4.0. How can I resolve this issue ? I read that I can build the files against .NET 3.5 but i’m unsure how to.

Thanks a lot !

The GetPixel example in the documentation uses some extra Python interface icing that is not in other languages. C# and other languages more closely follow the C++ Image interface. More specifically, C# is a strongly typed language and a single GetPixel method can not easily return different pixel types. So the Image class has a set of GetPixel methods for the specific types. For example if the image is of sitk.sitkUInt8 pixel type then the GetPixelAsUInt8 method needs to be use to get a pixel’s value.

The .NET environment should be backwardly compatible, so the SimpleITK 3.5 .NET binary should be able to be run with a 4.0 application.

Please look at the general build instructions for how to get started building SimpleITK if required.

2 Likes

Thanks to @zivy for updating the “GetPixel” section of the concepts page to clarify how it differs for different language.s

Hey
Thanks a lot for your answer ! It makes much more sense now. I was then able to successfully implement some nifti handler and viewer with unity.

Thanks again !

2 Likes

Hey,