ITK-snap cannot load DICOM

Hello,

I am relatively new to python and itk.

I originally started with MicroCT scan images with .tif extension. (single series, about 500 “slices”)
I then transformed the slices into DICOM series using simpleitk functions.

I expect ITK-snap to recognize the DICOM series and visualize the 3D volume representation but instead it gave me the following error saying vector is too long:

My guess is that ITK snap recognizes the instance number (“slices”) information but does not know that the DICOM series is a single volumetric data because it does not contain any geometrical information.
Maybe during the tif->dcm conversion I missed out essential metadata information.
Any ideas on how I might fix this?

thanks

Latest ITK-SNAP (version 3.8.0) uses a pretty old ITK version (4.12.2). Current version of ITK (example) reads the sample without issue. Perhaps ask for a refreshed build on ITK-SNAP mailing list?

1 Like

If you have a stack of TIFF images, you don’t really have the meta data information that a DICOM series would need, such as Z spacing. Even if you want to apply some Z spacing, individually converting each TIFF into a DICOM will not get you a series.

What you need to do is read all the TIFF images, then use the JoinSeriesImageFilter to create a 3d volume from the stack of images.

Here’s the doc for JoinSeriesImageFilter:
https://simpleitk.org/doxygen/latest/html/classitk_1_1simple_1_1JoinSeriesImageFilter.html

It’s going to create a volume of cubic voxels, so if your Z spacing is something else, use the Image’s SetSpacing method to change it voxel spacing.

Once you have the 3d volume, you can use the writeSlices function from the following example to write out a DICOM series.

https://simpleitk.readthedocs.io/en/master/link_DicomSeriesFromArray_docs.html

1 Like

Thank you Dave Chen,
I now understand what my problem is. I’ll look into your solution

1 Like