ITK python vessel segmentation

Hi all,

I am new to ITK and trying to do some work about brain vessel segmentation using ITK python. But I have no idea how to use those filters such as HessianRecursiveGaussianImageFilter and Hessian3DToVesselnessMeasureImageFilter in python using itk python module. Is there any detailed documentation about the usage of the these filters in python?

Thank you so much.

Hi @albert,
you may find some C++ use case of the itk::Hessian3DToVesselnessMeasureImageFilter and itk::HessianRecursiveGaussianImageFilter filters in the ITK SegmentBloodVessels example.

The example is unfortunately missing the Python code :bowing_man: :bowing_woman: . Both filters have their Python wrapping, so it should be fairly straightforward :rocket: to contribute to the example with the missing Python code.

Let me know should you need some help contributing with the Python code.

HTH,
JON HAITZ

I went ahead and implemented the Python version of SegmentBloodVessels here :snake: . @albert @jhlegarreta please take a look and also review the pull request.

@albert a good exercise and way to contribute to the community, as suggested by @jhlegarreta, is to provide a Python conversion for the multi-scale vessel enhancement example.

@jhlegarreta @matt.mccormick, thank you for your quick answers. I have tried implementing the python script using these filters by myself and it works. But I’m unclear how to contribute to provide the missing python code for the examples.

Sounds awesome @albert !

First you’d need to create a GitHub account if you haven’t got one, then you’d fork the ITKExamples repository. You’d then clone it, and configure your origin and upstream remotes to point to your fork and the upstream/ITK repositories respectively.

Then the you typically create a new branch, e.g.

git checkout -b AddMyExample origin/master