How to resize DICOM properly?

Hello, I’m new to simpleITK and have a question about resizing the image. In my understanding, spacing is the distance between the pixels. So I thought if I reduce the spacing by half, I can get a new half-size image without pixel data loss. However, when I run the code below, I needed to increase spacing twice to get a half-size image. Also, the new file size was much smaller than the original, so I was worried about the data loss. Am I doing something wrong here?

dicom_names = reader.GetGDCMSeriesFileNames(data_directory)
reader.SetFileNames(dicom_names)
image = reader.Execute()
size = image.GetSize()
spacing = image.GetSpacing()
print("Original image size:", size)
print("Original image spacing:", spacing)

new_spacing = np.array(spacing) * 2
new_size = (np.round(size * (np.array(spacing)/new_spacing))).astype(int).tolist()

resampled_image = sitk.Resample(image, new_size, sitk.Transform(), sitk.sitkNearestNeighbor, image.GetOrigin(), new_spacing, image.GetDirection(), 0.0, image.GetPixelID())
resampled_image_size = resampled_image.GetSize()
resampled_image_spacing = resampled_image.GetSpacing()
print("Resampled image size:", resampled_image_size)
print("Resampled image spacing:", resampled_image_spacing)

This causes loss. What you probably want is something like

# read image
spacing=image.GetSpacing()
new_spacing = np.array(spacing) * 0.5
image.SetSpacing(new_spacing)
# image is now twice smaller in physical space, with no loss of quality
1 Like

Hello @TWK,

My understanding from looking at your code is that you want the number of pixels/voxels to be half that of the original image, but that they still cover the same physical extent? Something that you would do if you were creating an image pyramid. This is the shortest code to get what you want:

resampled_image = image[::2,::2,::2]