How to create vtp file from nrrd file for further geometry view?

I am new to both itk/vtk and currently would like to display a 3d render of the vtp file of brain taken converted from nrrd/nifti file, where the final render will be shown in frontend using javascript(react), and the conversation of file from nrrd/nifti could take place in the backend using python.

1 Like

Hi @babayka,
Its been very frustrated so I want to tell you that to convert an NRRDfile to a VTP file, use Python with the SimpleITK and vtk libraries… First, load the NRRD file with SimpleITK, convert it to a vtkImageData object, then use vtkXMLPolyDataWriter to save it as a VTP file. For frontend rendering, use vtk.js in your React app to load and display the VTP file.

Thanks for the suggestions, I have tried use converting to numpy_array and then into VTKiamgedata from nifti image and then making it into VTP through vtk.vtkMarchingCubes() the issue is that despite it giving, for example, blood vessels through contour_value setting to 150, it missing smaller vessels on the nifti file, is there a way to capture all or at least more vessels without only decreasing the contour_value as with lower values it will just start capturing unnecessary parts of MRA image as well like a

skull, I have attached the image of what I mean

Marching cubes doesn’t handle one or two voxel wide features very well.

You can try vtk’s flying edges and surface nets. Here is a great summary blog https://www.kitware.com/really-fast-isocontouring/

Otherwise you can up sample your images to assign more voxels per feature before extracting the surface.

2 Likes