Dice score and Hausdorff distance for inter-modal image registration

I have 3D CT and MR images of the brain. I want to register these images and find out Dice score, Hausdorff distance, Jaccard index as measure of registration accuracy.
I have segmented the whole brain (both CT and MR images). I have also prepared binary masks of the whole brain (both CT and MR). Samples of segmentations and masks are shown below.

image image

image image

I studied a similar registration code given in SimpleITK notebooks/65_Registration_FFD.ipynb. This code is for intra-modal lung registration. It uses a utility called lung_label, to extract the lung from the whole mask.

How can I prepare a similar label for my case?
Is there any example code for inter-modal registration, where Dice score and Hausdorff distance are computed?

I am using my own metric for registration. So I cannot use an existing registration algorithm for the job.

Hello @debapriya,

Not sure what is the problem you are encountering. The computation of the segmentation measures is independent of the inter/intra modal aspect of the registration or the type of transformation estimated via registration. All that is required is the estimated transformation.

The pseudo-code for what you want to do is:

fixed_image = 
fixed_image_segmentation = 
moving_image = 
moving_image_segmentation = 
# Whatever the segmentation label of interest is. There can be multiple labels/structures in the segmentation image so identify which one we are interested in. 
# Value is likely 1 but can be any arbitrary value e.g. 42.
segmentation_label_of_interest =  

# register the images and resample the moving_image_segmentation
tx = register(fixed_image, moving_image)
moving_image_segmentation_pre_registration = sitk.Resample(moving_image_segmentation,
                                                    fixed_image_segmentation,
                                                    sitk.Transform(),