(coarse) point set registration in python

Hey there!

I am a young researcher-to-be and I am currently working on my bachelor’s thesis. The problem, because of which I reach out to you, boils down to a point set registration of one xy and one xyz image with little knowledge about the rough, relative orientation of those images. I have already tried to understand the relevant ITK docs and software guide chapters, and read some related open topics. I also tried some other python libraries like cv2 and some ImageJ plug-ins. Since I am very new to this area, I would be thankful if you could help me out. For starters, it would be sufficient to get an assessment of you experts, if this task seems feasible with ITK or if you have an idea for an alternative approach.

My data:

I have a 2d in vivo image of a murine kidney. The kidney is pressed to a window for imaging purposes leading to a deformation of the kidney. Due to the nature of intravital imaging, only the uppermost structures are visible and the quality is limited.

The organ is then removed and stained with antibodies. The removal leads to a relaxation of the squeezed tissue. The following procedure then results in a shrinkage. Using the same microscope (hybrid confocal/multiphoton), I get a 3d image of the top tissue layers. The orientation along the z-axis is somewhat known, while the orientation in the xy dimensions can only be guessed. As for my understanding, there are no unique structures, which could serve as a landmark and basis for coarse manual alignment. This is partly a result of different staining techniques in the corresponding images. Also, alignment of the overall volume seems not possible. There are, however, sphere-like structures (for those interested: glomeruli) in both images that - in my mind – should be able to be aligned.

Link to the data

The task