Centerline extraction

I am new to ITK. I have a 3D model of a tubular structure and I am looking for a way to extract the centerline for it. Could someone help?

So far, I have tried using VMTK but it requires a closed model (end points are closed), but in my case I have a model with open ends.

I am looking for suggestions on how I can extract the centerline for this model. Thank you.

@Stephen_Aylward might have some suggestions.

Hi,

There are a few options.

1. Render the object to a binary image and then extract the centerline that way. The downside is the lack of precision. An example of this is in the jupyter notebook: ITKTubeTK/Demo-SegmentVesselsFromBinaryImage.ipynb at master · InsightSoftwareConsortium/ITKTubeTK · GitHub

2. See if the topology toolkit has a solution: https://topology-tool-kit.github.io/

3. Check with the VTK forum, to see if there is a polydata-based solution.

Thanks for the suggestions, @Stephen_Aylward . For your first option,

I get the following error:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
KeyError                                  Traceback (most recent call last)
Input In [4], in <module>
----> 1 resample = ttk.ResampleImage.New(Input=im1, MakeIsotropic=True)
      2 resample.Update()
      3 im1Iso = resample.GetOutput()

File ~/anaconda3/envs/PT2/lib/python3.9/site-packages/itk/support/lazy.py:137, in LazyITKModule.__getattribute__(self, attr)
    135 module = self.__belong_lazy_attributes[attr]
    136 namespace = {}
--> 137 base.itk_load_swig_module(module, namespace)
    138 self.loaded_lazy_modules.add(module)
    139 for k, v in namespace.items():

File ~/anaconda3/envs/PT2/lib/python3.9/site-packages/itk/support/base.py:102, in itk_load_swig_module(name, namespace)
    100     deps = l_data.get_module_dependencies()
    101     for dep in deps:
--> 102         itk_load_swig_module(dep, namespace)
    104 if itkConfig.ImportCallback:
    105     itkConfig.ImportCallback(name, 0)